Social Media is taking over PR in 2017

social-media-1233873

I had the opportunity to create a project about a trend that is forming in the public relations world. I chose my trend to be social media. I chose social media because over half of the nation has some sort of social media account. Public Relations practitioners are taking advantage of this trend as it becomes more popular across the nation. Advertisements are starting to pop up even more across Snapchat and Instagram.

I have three parts to my multimedia package project. One of them includes a youtube video of me explaining how social media is trending in 2017. I use examples from Facebook. I explain moments of how PR practitioners are making you more aware of their organizations. An example I used was when you’re shopping on a website like Target and you put something in your cart. I explained how since you put it in your cart but didn’t buy it, it will now show up as an ad on Facebook to try and convince you to buy it. I also talked about how advertisements are becoming popular through Snapchat, Twitter, and Instagram within the last year. Even though, they’re not very affective, people are still looking at the ad and becoming more aware of the company.

 

The second part of my multimedia package is my podcast. I created a podcast that involved an interview with my roommate who has many different social media accounts and who uses social media quite often. I asked her questions regarding how many likes she gets on her posts and how have the advertisements that she has come across has affected her.

Transcript of Podcast:

“I’m here with my roommate, Bethany. And we’re just going to talking a little bit about social media and how it is trending throughout 2017. So Bethany, how are you doing today? Good thank you. Good, that’s great. So, do you have any social media? Yeah I do. Which accounts do you have? I have a Twitter account, Facebook, Instagram, basically everything. Which one do you use the most? Probably Facebook. Why do you think you use Facebook the most? It’s a way to connect with people that I haven’t seen in a long time, but I have a lot of people that I know or like in different states or countries that I’ve met. Have you met anyone new through any other social media? No. Okay. How many posts do you use for Facebook per week? Per week, maybe about like five. Oky. Maybe a little more, depending. Do you do about the same amount for Instagram? Um no, Instagram is sorta like when I’m doing something fun and I’ll just post about it. Okay. How many accounts do you have on Instagram? I have three. You have three? Oh wow. Can you elaborate on your accounts? My one account is like my main account where I just put like fun events that I’m doing with my friends and family. And then my other account is for CHAARG. Which is like an exercise group that I’m apart of and I just post about like healthy eating, different events I do for that. And then my third account is like a finsta which is like a funny insta. So just funny pictures of myself and different things like that. Okay, that’s awesome. Which account do you use the most? My regular account. Okay, how many likes do you get about average per post? 150. Okay, how many followers do you have? Eight-hundred and something, eight-hundred 90, eight-hundred something. Okay, do you think Instagram is the most trending out of all the social medias? I think so, yeah. Why do you think this way? Most of the people that I know and I met new people and they will be like what’s your Instagram? They never ask about your Facebook. A lot of people don’t have Facebook anymore and a lot of people that it’s out of date. Okay, do you think that Twitter is trending or declining? I think Twitter is declining. Okay, is there a certain reason of why it’s declining? I know a lot of friends that have deleted their Twitter account. I personally, deleted the app. I don’t go on Twitter more, I’ve just stopped like yesterday. But I know most of my friends don’t have a Twitter. Okay. What about Snapchat? How do you feel about that? I personally like Snapchat a lot but I use it a lot. I have a lot of friends that most of my friends have Snapchat. So do you think through Snapchat, Facebook, Instagram, do you think advertisements are popping up the more that you use them? Yeah, definitely. I’ve noticed in the past couple of months that like Instagram has started using a lot of more advertisements and Facebook has always used a lot of advertisements and same with Twitter. Have you ever purchased something from an advertisement? No. Okay, is there a reason why or you just not intrigued by it? Yeah, I’m usually not intrigued by it. So overall you think that Social Media is trending, correct? Correct. Do you think that more PR practitioners should use this trend to spread awareness of their companies? I think so, yeah. But also it can get annoying with the amount of advertisements with these like that like I personally because Twitter has so many little advertisements, little things going on. That’s part of the reason why I deleted it. But Instagram is starting to get really annoying with advertisements. Yeah, okay. Thank you so much for your time Bethany. I really appreciate it. Yeah, no problem.”

 

The third part of my project is the image gallery. You will notice pictures that will give you an insight of how advertisements are used throughout social media. All three parts of my multimedia project will give viewers an inside look of how social media is trending through 2017 in Public Relations.

Relationships that are formed through Social Media

Leave a comment